The “Traditional” (said in a whisper) Photographer

I spoke with a new client this week… “So, where did you find me?”

It was in that answer that I heard the “T” word… a word that many consider a negative word in the world of photography.

“I was looking for a traditional photographer.”  Uh-oh.  I have been trained by the photographic world to consider that word the kiss of death… a word you dare not let pass your lips.  OLD.  DUSTY.  RIGID.  BORING.  But she didn’t define traditional as “old”, “boring” or “outdated”, the way some do.  She found it comforting, timeless and, if I dare say it, appealing.  It got me thinking, so I asked around and did some investigation.

According to Wedding Photo USA, “the traditional wedding photographer usually has outstanding portraiture skills. They are concerned with quality and making their subject look great down to every detail such as body alignment, lighting, background, etc.”  Yep, that fits.  When photographing a portrait, I do want to stop things sometimes in order to lift a persons elbow from their body to create a more slimming effect, or move a light to create a more flattering pattern of light on their face or body.  I think it is my responsibility.

Looking further, most of my research of “traditional” photography lead me to the question of digital vs. film photography.  So, I used another term that is widely used when defining the different approaches to photography… classic.

According to the World English Dictionary, classic is defined as:

  1. of the highest class, esp in art or literature.
  2. adhering to an established set of rules or principles in the arts or sciences.
  3. serving as a standard or model of its kind
  4. characterized by simplicity, balance, regularity, and purity of form; classical
  5. of lasting interest or significance
  6. continuously in fashion because of its simple and basic style

As a photographer, I am able to create images in a variety of approaches.  I seek out education to help me learn the current trends and style changes.  And, I LOVE the newer, modern approach.  Less posed, less concerned with the technical aspect of photography than the emotion. 

But, I also love the traditional, classical images.  Images that do concern themselves with being “continuously in fashion because of its simple and basic style”, and “adhering to an established set of rules or principles in the arts or sciences.”  Basics of photography matter to me, like focus, light, balance, and visual flow.  I love carefully using additive light and posing to create an image that is timeless, classical, and yes, traditional. 

Let’s be clear here, I do NOT define traditional or classical as the poses used in many studios in the past.  You know, those poses that are stiff and uncomfortable to even look at.  Those, in my mind, fall into “style” or “trends”, elements that date a photograph just like clothing does.  And, if we are going to be honest, there are always trends and styles that influence our work.  Some of the current “modern” styles will be looked back on in 15 years with the same eye-rolling that we use when looking at cheesy images from the 1970s.  When I strive for classical, I want an image that will hang forever… beautifully lit, composed and captured.

I am a huge fan of Top Chef, and often see comparisons between the world of creating food and the world of photography, and the changes both industries are experiencing.  There is a new wave of chefs doing AMAZING things with food.  There is no denying it.  But, I am always interested in those who have been classically trained in French Cuisine, and I enjoy seeing how they use that training both in modern and traditional styles of cooking.

So, I dare to speak the a bad word, “traditional”, not in a whisper, but proudly.  I am a photographer who loves the new “modern” approach to photography, but am hoping to remove the stigma of “traditional”.  

About amomentcaptured

Artist of Photography, Painting, and the Written Word. Above all, I love the people I choose to be a part of my life, and I want life to be fun and happy.
This entry was posted in Studio Buzz, Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment